100 Ways To Cope With Stress – Day Four

Sorry I’ve been away from this blog for quite a while. Let’s get back to it! The next stress relief suggestion from The Carolina Center for Behavorial Health is – Avoid relying on chemical aids. I believe this is a great suggestion. Sometimes, however, I do feel the need for a chemical aid, whether it’s a pill or chocolate! I am certainly not going to judge anyone for taking aids as long as they aren’t harmful. I think the underlying message is, “Why am I taking them?” Are there root causes for my stress? Perhaps unconfessed sin such as guilt or anger which can result in depression. Have I forgiven everyone who has offended me or tried to ask forgiveness of those I may have offended? There are many reasons why I may feel the need for a chemical aid to relieve my stress. Two verses which speak to this are – Proverbs 13:12 – Hope deferred maketh the heart sick: but when the desire cometh, it is a tree of life. And – Psalm 43:5 – Why art thou cast down, O my soul? and why art thou disquieted within me? hope in God: for I shall yet praise him, who is the health of my countenance, and my God. Perhaps, in the future, when I feel I need to reach for a pill, I will reach for God’s Word instead.

One thought on “100 Ways To Cope With Stress – Day Four

Leave a Reply

