100 Ways To Cope With Stress – Day 9 – Say No More Often

Wow! Isn’t this a great suggestion for relieving stress? How often do I get into trouble by not exercising control in saying yes to everything and everyone! I can’t tell you how many times in the past I’ve overstretched myself physically and emotionally all because I was afraid to say no. As I age, I must admit it is getting easier for me to say no. I realize now I can’t do everything, please everyone and go everywhere. The Bible says in James 5:12 – But above all things, my brethren, swear not, neither by heaven, neither by the earth, neither by any other oath: but let your yea be yea; and your nay, nay; lest ye fall into condemnation. I realize this verse is speaking of swearing by an oath, but I think it could be used in learning how to NOT promise someone I will do something because I can’t say no and then I have to either go back on my word or, worse, overextend myself and get worn out or stressed. All of these stress relief suggestions by The Carolina Center for Behavorial Center have such good Biblical implications. I need to heed them to be stress free.

One thought on “100 Ways To Cope With Stress – Day 9 – Say No More Often

  1. This is one of my greatest difficulties, Marilyn. I want to help and please everyone, too. And yes, it causes me stress when i continually overextend myself. Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

