100 Ways To Cope With Stress – Day 10 – Set priorities in your life

The Lord has been teaching me lately about the importance of setting priorities in my life on a daily basis. First and foremost – Having a one-on-one devotional time with my Creator and Saviour. I used to have this time anytime throughout the day or before going to bed at night. I have found though, as I age, I need this time first thing in the morning. The dogs still want to get another hour of sleep, the birds aren’t too interested in singing their hearts out yet, no family member is up – just me.

It’s so quiet in the morning.

I need that quietude to settle my heart before God as each new day begins. I’m certainly not criticizing anyone who has their devotions at another time during the day. I think it isn’t the time that’s so important but the fact that I just have them on a regular basis.

I feel as if devotion time is like taking a daily spiritual bath. I know I don’t like to be around people who don’t bathe on a regular basis, and I think it’s obvious to others when we neglect our spiritual cleansing.

After the devotional time, then I get busy setting about in my home to have priorities in how I run my home. I always do my grocery shopping on a Thursday, so I make up my list of weekly menus and food needs and I clean the fridge the day before I shop. That way I’m all ready for the week. This relieves a lot of stress. To bring another week’s groceries into my home with no where to put them because there is old food in the fridge, leftovers, etc. piling up is frustrating.

I am trying to set more priorities in my daily walk in life. Exercise, eating better, keeping in touch with friends – things like that help to relieve the stress in my life. God is good, every day, all the time, no matter what!

Leave a Reply

