100 Ways To Cope With Stress – Day 11 – Avoid Negative People

I have to admit, I really don’t like to be around a negative person. I know a person like this, and I find myself avoiding her at all costs. That might sound cruel and unloving, but I think I do it because, when I hear her talk, it’s ALL negative. I feel badly inside my heart when I hear all the negative things she has to say. I can feel my stress level rising when I listen to her. I’ve tried to talk with her and help her to look at the positive side of things, but she never does. So…I avoid her. I avoid her so I won’t have to feel the stress associated with talking with her.

Not very Christian on my part, for sure.

But then again, I can’t ALWAYS be thinking about others, can I? Shouldn’t I also care for myself? By not listening to her, I’m caring for my stress level.

So far I don’t like this blog. I don’t like what is coming out of my heart, but there it is for all to see. Proverbs 18:21a says – Death and life are in the power of the tongue…. I want to remember this admonition whenever I speak with anyone. I want my tongue to bring life, health and peace to the listener and not any sort of death. As a writer, it is so important to remember the power my tongue holds to change lives for good or evil. Lord, today and everyday, please help me to be aware of the my tongue’s power over the lives of others.

3 thoughts on “100 Ways To Cope With Stress – Day 11 – Avoid Negative People

  1. Yes, it IS hard to see what’s in our hearts! What a great exercise this blog is….Maybe that’s why I avoid writing one!!!! 🙂

    Many good points here.

  2. Marilyn, I don’t know why you say you don’t like this blog–I love it! Short, sweet, transparent, to-the-point…simply a great reminder each day to evaluate those areas that cause so much stress in our lives. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us!
    Vonda

Leave a Reply

