100 Ways To Cope With Stress – Day 12- Use Time Wisely

I am an impulsive person. Since I’m not working right now, my days are pretty much filled with discretionary time. This isn’t a good thing for an impulsive person. But! Two weeks ago, out of the blue, I decided I would make up a schedule for things I wanted to accomplish every day. I’ve pretty much kept to the schedule. When things crop up into my day which throw the schedule off, I don’t panic. I just keep plodding along and doing what I can. For instance, I have set aside a time each day for Bible reading, prayer, answering emails, writing and blogging to name a few of the daily tasks. Then, on alternate days, I exercise, memorize scripture, and clean. One day a week I pay bills, clean the fridge, work up my menus for the week. Every day I either read something for enjoyment or learning the craft of writing. Other days have other little things I do.

Like I said, I’ve only been doing this for two weeks but BOY! What a difference this has made in my daily life! I am happier, more patient, less stressed, and feel as if I’m truly accomplishing things in my life rather than just going through each day on a hit or miss basis. The Bible has a lot to say about using our time wisely.

Ephesians 5:16 says Redeeming the time, because the days are evil. Matthew Henry, in his Bible commentary, says redeeming the time literally means, “buying the opportunity. It is a metaphor taken from merchants and traders who diligently observe and improve the seasons for merchandise and trade. It is a great part of Christian wisdom to redeem the time. Good Christians must be good husbands of their time, and take care to improve it to the best of purposes, by watching against temptations, by doing good while it is in the power of their hands, and by filling it up with proper employment—one special preservative from sin. They should make the best use they can of the present seasons of grace. Our time is a talent given us by God for some good end, and it is misspent and lost when it is not employed according to his design.”

I want to be a good steward of the time God gives me each day and Matthew Henry’s words share many reasons why this is a good goal. When I commit to good time habits, I am “buying opportunities for good employment of my time” and I like what he says of how it is a “special preservative from sin”. That sounds like a good stress reliever to me.

2 thoughts on “100 Ways To Cope With Stress – Day 12- Use Time Wisely

Leave a Reply

