100 Ways To Cope With Stress – Day 14 – Always Make Copies of Important Papers

Once upon a time, back in 1984, I began a new job. One of the first things the outgoing secretary, as they were called in those long ago days of yore, advised me to do as she was in the midst of my training was to tell me I should always make a copy of everything I gave to my new boss. She informed me he was constantly misplacing or losing papers she would give him and, unfortunately, many times he would blame her and say she hadn’t given it to him. I thanked her for this invaluable information, but I thought about how tedious it would be to fulfill this obligation since many papers pass from secretary to boss throughout the course of a day. She could have kept this tip from me, but she had a good heart, and she wanted me to succeed. After all, I would be the product of her training!

Shortly after her two weeks notice and my training were up and I was on my own, I discovered her words were true! He DID misplace or lose his important papers, and he DID blame me saying I must not have given them to him. Whew! What a relief to know I had the copy of the original in a special file in my desk drawer. I did, however, have to take the blame and always say to him, “You’re right! I must not have given that paper to you. I’m so sorry.” This part of my job was difficult because it’s not easy to say you’re sorry for something you KNOW you didn’t do, but I did it to avoid conflict and be submissive to my employer.

I learned a valuable lesson from all of that. It certainly does relieve stress when you make copies of important papers you might accidentally misplace. Just yesterday I overheard a conversation between a man with a laptop that got water on it and his IT man about the importance of backing up his documents.

What is the spiritual application in all of this? Again, being a good steward. Isn’t it odd so many of these behavioral suggestions for relieving stress have to do with being a good steward? I am beginning to realize how important my stewardship is to God.

I Corinthians 4:2 says – “Moreover it is required in stewards, that a man be found faithful.” Lord, please help me today and every day to be a faithful steward. Amen

Leave a Reply

