100 Ways to Cope With Stress – Day 27 – Say something nice to someone

My mother always taught me, if I couldn’t say something good about someone, not to say it at all. I’m sure your mother taught you this as well. It was and still is a tried and true statement. Not only should we seek to say something nice about someone, but we should try to say something nice to someone as well. There is a slight difference.

When I say something nice about someone, I may not actually be talking to that person but to someone else about that person. But, when I’m actually speaking with someone, I need to be nice to them, especially if they are a relative or good friend.

I always try to be as pleasant as I can be around my friends and family. I don’t always succeed at this, especially with my family. Guess I feel a little more at ease with them and show my true self from time to time. But everyone needs kind words. How about that clerk in the grocery store who doesn’t seem very friendly. Perhaps a kind word would cheer them up and open the door of conversation and witness just a little bit. The Bible says in Proverbs 25:11 – A word fitly spoken is like apples of gold in pictures of silver. I can only imagine how beautiful that picture would be. This is a picture of what my words should be like with others.

Speaking nicely to someone is a great stress reliever.

Leave a Reply

