100 Ways to Cope With Stress – Day 29 – Walk in the Rain

…or sing in the rain! I LOVE the part of the old movie where Gene Kelly sings and dances in the rain. Every time  watch it, I feel joyful. Here is the link for it if you’ve never seen it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D1ZYhVpdXbQ&feature=fvsr.

I had heard once that Gene Kelly had the flu when he performed that scene. A true actor! The show must go on.

I guess that’s my point today – whatever our circumstances or trials, the show must go on. Rain will inevitably come into each of our lives at one time or another, and we may as well learn to walk or sing in it. Someone once said, “You are either coming out of a trial, or are in a trial, or are getting ready to go into one.” Trials are how God grows us in maturity. Where would we be without trials to grow us up in Christ?

When I was a little girl, before we knew how dangerous it might be to be outside in a rain storm, my mother would let me go out and play in the mud puddles during the storm. I really enjoyed doing that when I was little.

Another aspect of walking in the rain during stressful times in our lives, is after a dry spell. Doesn’t it bring joy to your heart to smell the rain and feel it on your face after not having it for a while? Because we’ve had so much dry weather these past few summers, I’ve learned to truly appreciate rain when we do get it. I love it! It eases my stress when I hear it.

Well, that’s all for today. Hope it rains soon! I need it!

Leave a Reply

