100 Ways to Cope With Stress – Day 30 – Schedule playtime into every day

Well, I’m back on track with 100 Ways to Cope With Stress. This one  is a great one, don’t you think? Wouldn’t it be nice if we COULD schedule playtime into every day? Think about when you were a child. I know almost every one of my days, I played somewhere – attic, neighbor’s house, back yard, with someone – mostly my next door neighbor, Linda, or just by myself, or sometime – morning, noon, or night if I wasn’t in school.

Playtime was a big part of my every day life. I think children are so prone to playing because it’s their way of growing. I’ve heard that said, and I believe it to be true. I acted out in play many adult themes like playing in my little child-size kitchen, or being a pretend mommy to my dolls, or even more mature themes with Barbie and Ken!

I think it’s awful how when we finally do grow up, we forget to schedule time for play every day. Wonder why that is? I guess it’s because most of the time we have to work at making a living or taking care of our house and family. We just “forget” that play is important too.

The dictionary’s first definition of play is – “To occupy oneself in amusement, sport, or other recreation.” Job 40:20 says – “Surely the mountains bring him forth food, where all the beasts of the field play.” Even the animals know how to play! I looked up the word play in my Strong’s Concordance and it says another definition for play is to laugh. We all know what stress reliever laughter is!

I think, today, I’m really going to try to schedule some playtime and laughter into my day. How about you?  🙂

4 thoughts on “100 Ways to Cope With Stress – Day 30 – Schedule playtime into every day

  1. I play with my Schnauzer, Nick, every day. He makes me laugh. My husand heard about a new game, Frisbee golf, on Sunday. Today he told me he wants us to play. I pooh-poohed the idea. Your post caused me to reconsider. We gave up golf a few years ago, too expensive, too hot. The good news the Frisbee golf course is free, and the cost of the Frisees are cheap. I will tell him to count me in.

  2. I love to play and I need to play. My sister and I took my mother to the mountains last week to do nothing but play Pigtail, a dominoes game. It wasn’t relaxing, though. When my family gets together to play, it’s a dog-eat-dog party!

    When I got home, I had a full Inbox and a calendar full of deadlines. But there was a difference in my attitude…because I had played.

    Thank you for sharing this post.

Leave a Reply

