Gotta take a break again and brag a little!

I just have to take another break from my regular daily blog on 100 Ways to Cope with Stress to indulge myself in a little “bragging”. I know that sounds terribly egocentric (that’s a 50 cent word!), but I want to brag on my Lord for a minute!

On April 25, 2009, I was coming home from Stamps and More by Eleanor – a wonderful stamp and scrapbook store in SC. Here’s her link BTW: http://stampsandmorebyeleanor.com/, and I was sincerely praying about what I can do to stay at home and take care of my 91-yr-old mother as she is needing me more and more and still be able to earn an income. And just like that, I heard that still, small Voice that I know only belongs to God. It said, “You can write.”

I never gave any thought to being a writer. I’ve always loved to read and am totally addicted to buying books and I’ve always been able to express myself better in words than in speech. So, ever since that day, I’ve been pursuing a career in writing. Mostly trying to learn the craft but also submitting some things here and there. I’ve had a few devotionals published online at http://www.ChristianDevotions.us and another online magazine.

I am happy to say that as of today God has granted me the privilege of being published in an upcoming Christmas edition of the Chicken Soup for the Soul book series which will be in stores like Barnes & Noble and Wal Mart before Christmas. The one in B & N will be called Tales of Christmas and the one at Wal Mart will be The Gift of Christmas.

I’ve told several of my friends that this seemed like a good possibility, but I wouldn’t tell everyone until they told me 100%. Well, they did today, via email, and I’m so excited! I hope and pray the words in my story, A Christmas Accident?, about a bad car accident I had at Christmastime in 1998, will be a blessing and encouragement to many.

I’ll be on page 87, so watch for it, ok? Thanks

14 thoughts on “Gotta take a break again and brag a little!

  1. Marilyn, What a blessing…and confirmation that you are doing God’s will for your life. This is one of those times when you won’t know until we get to Glory what a difference you will have made in someone’s life. I am so happy for you! You can bet I will get a copy of this one!! Hugs, Mary

  2. That is so great Marilyn! We will watch for it. Mom and I really enjoy your blogs, very inspiring so keep it up. Let’s us four get together for lunch one day soon. Donna

    • Thanks, Donna! How special to know you both are reading the blog! Yes, we can do lunch sometime. My mother would love it! She told me she really connected with your mother.

      We are not vegans although we enjoy going to the dinners so we are open to eating anywhere. Just being honest with you. But you can name the place if you want. We’ll go anywhere.

  3. Marilyn,

    Eleanor shared you Blog with me and I was so thrilled to hear how the
    Lord is just giving you the desires of your heart. I admire you so much and I know that God is pleased as well. I have often thought about what I am going to do myself when my mama gets older and will need more help. You have encouraged me by sharing you blessing.

    Love you,
    Reneé

    • Renee, you are so sweet! What wonderful comments! I admire you too, and I’m sorry I never told you that. I miss you so much at the stamp store. It is a difficult thing to watch our parents age, and we know they need us more and more as they do. God is so good to mother and me though. You know, He promises to “establish the border of the widow and care for the fatherless (which we both are) and the widow.” I know He will provide good writing opportunities for me so I can stay home and care for her. I love doing it!

  4. hello

    just found your site and wanted to ask for some advice on marketing

    hopefully this is just what im looking for, looks like i have a lot to read Im trying to find a way to build an e-mail list.

Leave a comment