100 Ways to Cope With Stress – Day 35 – Visualize yourself winning

Once in a while, I like to just sit down and think about the future. The definition of visualize is, “to form a mental image of something incapable of being viewed or not at that moment visible”. I think I ponder the future a lot because, right now, I am tending “the lonely gate of caregiving” for my 91-yr-old mother. I can’t physically go to the mission field and help the laborers in their efforts. I can’t tend the soil of a lot of “gardens” that I would like to work in. But don’t get me wrong – life is good! God is good! I am learning to sow seeds in the soil God has placed me in, in order to bring forth blossoms of joy, peace and contentment.

If there is one thing I believe in this life, it is that God has a specific plan for each of our lives. Jeremiah tells us that He knows the plans He has for us. Visualizing winning could be coupled with setting goals. Recently, I’ve been encouraged to set goals in my writing efforts. The Bible says in Proverbs 13:19 – “The desire accomplished is sweet to the soul.” When we set a goal in any area of our lives and work toward accomplishing that goal, a sweetness is produced in our soul.

As a Christian, I think it’s very important for us to think about winning. To win means, “to achieve victory”.

We have many victories that can be won here and now in this world, but I’m also reminded that some day, we will be blessed with the greatest victory of all. Immortality! I Corinthians 15: 54-57 says – So when this corruptible shall have put on incorruption, and this mortal shall have put on immortality, then shall be brought to pass the saying that is written, Death is swallowed up in victory. O death, where is thy sting? O grave, where is thy victory? But thanks be to God, which giveth us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.”

That is truly visualizing winning!

One thought on “100 Ways to Cope With Stress – Day 35 – Visualize yourself winning

  1. So true, Marilyn! Sometimes Christians have the idea that to follow Christ we have to always be on the losing end. Yes, we have to be willing to carry our cross(es) in life; yes, we must leave everything and follow Him; yes, we must think of others better than ourselves. But there is too much Scripture to deny the fact that our dreams and goals are important, too. The difference is in where we put our faith to reach those goals and where they fall in our priorities. As the Word says, “Seek Him first…”

    Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

