100 Ways to Cope With Stress – Day 39 – Dance a jig

As an old-fashioned, Bible-believing Christian, I do not believe intimate dancing is appropriate between unmarried men and women. I believe the reason God did not intend for a man and a woman, who are unmarried, to hold each other close is to avoid physical temptation which can lead to all kinds of ills. I do not see anything wrong, though, with a married couple dancing in the privacy of their own home. But that’s not what my blog is about today!

The Carolina Center for Behavioral Health lists, “Dance a jig” as the next stress reliever on its list. The dictionary says a jig is – “any of various old rustic dances involving kicking and leaping.” This sounds like a good thing to do but please be careful because I know if I kick or leap too high or too much, at my age, I might throw something “out” – like my back and that would cause stress to be sure!

The whole idea is simply to find something to be happy about and then just dance a little jig. Sometimes I hear a song from my teenage past that I enjoyed, and I literally do a little happy dance to it in my kitchen. It makes me feel good inside!

So, look for something in your life that brings a smile to your face and then do a happy dance! It’ll make your day! 🙂

3 thoughts on “100 Ways to Cope With Stress – Day 39 – Dance a jig

  1. Hi Marilyn,
    I “danced a jig” when I found out my story was accepted for
    the Christmas edition of Chicken Soup for the Soul. I noticed
    on Vonda’s website that you also will have a story in this
    book – congratulations!

    • Congratulations!! Yes! I dance a jig too for that acceptance. You’re going to be in the same book I’m going to be in, right? The Christmas edition? God is so good!

Leave a Reply

