100 Ways to Relieve Stress – Day 40 – Say hello to a stranger

I’m back in business! I was having trouble posting.

One time, I visited my aunt in another state, which will remain nameless. I had to go to the grocery store, and, being the super friendly person that I am, I began to smile and say hello to various people I passed in the store. What an unhappy experience! NO ONE would smile or say hello back! What was wrong? Didn’t I shower that morning, use deodorant or mouthwash? I couldn’t figure it out. I came away from that state thinking to myself that the people who live there must surely be stressed!

Our parents have always taught us not to talk to strangers, and I understand how that can be helpful. But I think it’s important to show friendliness, especially as a Christian, because initiating a conversation with someone we don’t know can lead us to many good places as well. Proverbs 18:24a says – “A man that hath friends must show himself friendly.” It’s important to show yourself friendly to others in order to help both of you grow! We can be an encouragement to our fellow human beings in so many ways. But, if we don’t begin, by saying hello, it halts  everything right there.

Just recently, I met a fellow writer at a one-day writers conference. I introduced myself and we began to converse. I discovered we have so much in common, and she and I have become very good friends! I’m so glad I was friendly with her or I would have missed many blessings.

So, next time you see a stranger, jump out of your comfort box and say, “Hello. How are you today?” You might be pleasantly surprised at the results!

4 thoughts on “100 Ways to Relieve Stress – Day 40 – Say hello to a stranger

  1. Moving here from the Chicago area, friendliness from strangers was one thing I had to adjust to. Up in that area, it’s rare to find a stranger in a checkout line who would give you more than the time of day – literally. It’s not that it never happens, but it is a rarity. The people themselves are friendly, but only to those they know or have been introduced to. I think it’s part of the culture, but I also think it has to do with being so close to a mega city where you just don’t know what kind of people are around you, so you become wary of total strangers. Is it right? No, but that’s just the way it seems to be, unfortunately. I’m sure many friendships and blessing are never realized because of it.

  2. Smiles are contagious. However, some people are immune unfortunately.
    Your warm smile welcomed me to South Carolina when I had been in the state less than two months. Keep smiling. Friends are our gifts from God.

Leave a Reply

