On Being a Writer…

I’m a writer by design. God’s design. I’ve always enjoyed writing imaginative stories as a young person, making up new words and embellishing tales. There’s just something within me that feels a need to be expressive when I write or talk. Writing words down on paper is a wonderful and cathartic release of pent up emotions too. A writer really doesn’t even always need “readers” either. A writer can write whenever and wherever they want. If I want to privately journal or write a story on my laptop, I can do that. No one even has to read it. A writer MUST write. A writer doesn’t feel fulfilled unless they are writing something. That’s all there is to it.

A true writer will work around difficult circumstances or people who seek, either knowingly or unknowingly, to thwart their writing efforts. I’ve often thought if I go blind in my old age, I could still write. If the entire Bible was written down by men of old from Godly inspiration, then I certainly could hire a secretary to pen whatever inspired words may come from my heart and mind.

Whatever life throws at us, and sometimes life can be pretty cruel, we must always remember to use our God-given gifts and talents to the best of our ability and in spite of various trials and tribulations. To not do so, is to waste precious time and talents when we could be encouraging someone else who might be struggling on this journey of life.

I don’t know what your gift, talent or even unfulfilled dream is, but if you have laid them aside, for whatever reason, pick them up again and use them for the benefit of mankind. We’re only here on this earth for a very short time.

One thought on “On Being a Writer…

Leave a Reply

