100 Ways to Relieve Stress – Day 51 – Stop Thinking Tomorrow Will be a Better Day

When I’m faced with discouragement, I tend to live in the realm of “Someday”. Someday things will be different. Someday I’ll be financially secure. Someday my health will be better. But as time rolls on, I realize that Someday isn’t even a day on my calendar. There’s Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday – but no Someday.

Sometimes my attitude is like the parrot who felt as if he wanted freedom from his cage and all he could say was, “I can’t get out! I can’t get out!” Sitting next to the parrot in another cage was a canary, also entrapped, but who had accepted her confinement and sang sweetly at the top of her lungs. I want to be like that canary. There are times when I think I know better than God, and I feel as if I’m trapped in my unpleasant circumstances when all along God has me right where He wants me – the place where I can learn most to trust Him and bring Him glory.

This morning God lovingly showed me again His plan is perfect for my life – TODAY. I don’t need to look forward to Someday but what I really need is to look forward to today and what God would have me to do now. Even though I may not be fully content with my present circumstances, I can be thankful and rejoice in them if I accept where God has me today. This is a great stress reliever from the greatest Stress Reducer.

One thought on “100 Ways to Relieve Stress – Day 51 – Stop Thinking Tomorrow Will be a Better Day

Leave a Reply

