100 Ways to Relieve Stress – Day 52 – Say Hello To a Stranger

Remember when you were young, how your mother told you not to talk to strangers? I do. There are very good reasons, sometimes, not to do that, and I do think it’s right to teach our children to be careful who they speak with. Sad to say, we live in a pretty immoral and evil society.

But.

Let’s talk about you as a grown-up. In my humble opinion, I think everybody could be a little bit more friendly nowadays. I live near a local university and when I walk on campus there, I often feel neglected and sad.

Why?

Because so many of the students (and staff) are passing me and don’t even look up. They’re texting or talking on their phone or whatever. Now, don’t get me wrong. I’ve got nothing against cell phones. I have one. I text. I talk. However, I try to do it in private so that when I’m in public, I can actually strike up a conversation with someone.

I love people. I want to learn something unique about them or perhaps see an area I could encourage or pray for them about. Or, maybe even tell them how I’ve learned how they can go to heaven one day.

And here’s a tip for you – If you really want to be friendly, take your dog for a walk. I’ve found even people on their cell phone will stop talking or texting long enough to pet Fido. Works every time!

The Bible says in Proverbs 18:24 – A man that hath friends must show himself friendly. That’s my motto too.

How about, when we’re out and about in public, if we put away our phones and look up when we pass a stranger. Even if all you do in the passing is make eye contact and give them a smile and a nod. You just don’t know how those little actions might encourage a stranger.

Leave a Reply

